• Lubbock Chamber of Commerce Announces 2018 Board Administration and Directors

    • Share:
    December 19, 2017

    LUBBOCK, Texas – The Lubbock Chamber of Commerce announced Cory Powell, Director of TTU Mentor Tech - Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, as the Chairman of the 2018 Board of Directors. 
    An alumnus of Texas Tech University, Powell cofounded The Lauro Cavazos & Ophelia Powell-Malone Mentoring Program, (Mentor Tech) in 2002. Since that time the San Antonio native has diligently worked to ensure that the program continues to provide mentors and protégés with support, opportunities, and relevant resources. Powell is very active in numerous community organizations and as an advocate for students; he currently serves as the campus advisor for the Visions of Light Gospel Choir.
    In addition to Powell’s community leadership he is the recipient of a myriad of awards, including the 2015 Top Techsan Award. In July of 2004 and again in July of 2005, he was recognized for his leadership and civic involvements as one of 40 individuals named to Lubbock Illustrated Magazine's "40 under 40" list. In the spring of 2006, Powell attended the African American Leadership Summit in Washington, D.C. upon the nomination of former Congressman Randy Neugebauer and former senator, Kay Bailey Hutchinson. Powell was selected as one of Lubbock's "20 under 40" by the Young Professionals of Greater Lubbock in 2009 and in 2012 he co-authored a chapter on Mentor Tech in the published book, "Dimensions of Mentoring: A Continuum of Practice from Beginning Teachers to Teacher Leaders".
    “The chamber will hold its first Diversity and Inclusion Summit in 2018 and we are proud to have Chairman Cory Powell spearhead this initiative,” stated Lubbock Chamber President/CEO, Eddie McBride. “Chairman Powell is the first African-American to serve as Chairman of the Chamber and diversity goes far beyond different races and ethnicities. He brings so much to the table in his service and compassion for others and we can’t wait to see what all Cory and the executive team do in 2018 to keep moving Lubbock forward.”
    The new executive committee welcomes:
    Chairman of the Board: Cory Powell, TTU Mentor Tech – Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
    Chairman-Elect: Abel Castro, FirstBank & Trust Co.
    Immediate Past Chairwoman: Diannah Tatum, Sanford & Tatum Insurance Agency
    Treasurer: Gabe Vitela, One Guy from Italy – 50th Street
    Secretary: Eddie McBride, Lubbock Chamber of Commerce
    Vice Chairman – Business Advocacy: Dave Marcinkowski, Madera Companies
    Vice Chairwoman – Chamber Services and Member Engagement: Kathy Oaks, American Cancer Society
    Vice Chairman – Communications and Public Relations: Chris Lonngren, Schlotzsky’s
    Vice Chairwoman – Community Development: Shannon Spencer, Girl Scouts of Texas Oklahoma Plains, Inc.
    Vice Chairwoman – Programs, Services and Events: Sharon Hyde Bass, Volunteer Center of Lubbock
    The Chamber thanks past board members for their service and is excited to welcome many new members to its 2018 leadership.
    The 2018 Board of Directors is as follows:
    Jeremy Barbee, Roy Neal Insurance Agency Inc.
    Byrnie Bass, R. Byrn Bass, Jr. Attorney at Law
    Steve Beck, Covenant Health
    Beth Bridges, South Plains Mall Office
    Kevin Bryan, Digital Base Productions
    Keith Bryant, Lubbock-Cooper Independent School District
    Fernando Bustos, Bustos Law Firm, PC
    Rey Carrasco, Kimley-Horn and Associates
    Chris Chambers, Chambers Engineering
    Renee Gonzales Davis, 4ORE! Golf
    Casey Doyle, Casey Carpet One
    Jeff Horn, Benchmark Business Solutions
    Chris James, United Supermarkets
    Brent King, UMC Health System
    Mike Lambert, Feed & Thangs Farm Store
    Dana Madison, Calvert Home Health Care
    Becky Palmer, Atmos Energy
    Tony Pena, FirstCapital Bank
    L. Timothy Perrin, Lubbock Christian University
    Cathy Pope, Retired
    Vanessa Reasoner, Grace Health System
    Dr. Berhl Robertson, Lubbock Independent School District
    Pam Sharpe, The Price Group
    Marcie Truby, Director’s Choice
    Ian van Reenen, Young Professionals of Lubbock



    Haily Assiter, Director of Communications and Public Relations
    (806) 761-7005
  • News News