• Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon

    The 2016 Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon will be held on December 1. Please check back for more information.

    If you are interested in either participating or sponsoring this event, please contact the Chamber at (806) 761-7000.


    The Lubbock Chamber of Commerce hosted its 2015 Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon on Thursday, December 3, at at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center. The 5-Star celebration included recognizing annual award winners and celebrating the 5-Star Chamber and its member businesses.
    This 2015 award honorees included:
    Ambassador of the Year: Mario Ybarra, Workforce Solutions South Plains
                Sponsored by Parkhill, Smith & Cooper
    Volunteer of the Year: Mike Lambert, Feed and Thangs
                Sponsored by Volunteer Center of Lubbock
    Business People of the Year: Robert L. Duncan, J.D., Texas Tech University System Chancellor; M. Duane Nellis, Ph.D, Texas Tech University President; and Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center President
    Business of the Year: George McMahan Development, LLC
    Entrepreneur/Small Business of the Year: Gabriel Vitela, Twisted Root Burger Co.
                Sponsored by Reagor Dykes Auto Group
    The luncheon’s featured speaker was James Olson, former CIA Chief of Counterintelligence and author of Fair Play: The Moral Dilemmas of Spying. Olson described his undercover career in the CIA, including how he was recruited, the training he received, the risks he and his wife faced (she was also a CIA operative), and the effect of this undercover lifestyle on their marriage and children. Olson will also discuss the role of the CIA in the current Global War on Terrorism and other current issues affecting the safety and security of American citizens. He will conclude his presentation by taking the audience on an actual espionage operation he and his wife carried out in Moscow at the height of the Cold War.
    Thanks to our 2015 sponsors!

    Annual Meeting Presenting Sponsor:


    Annual Meeting Diamond Sponsors: George McMahan Development, LLCLubbock National BankSouthwest AirlinesSuddenlink

    Annual Meeting Platinum Sponsors: 7B Building & Development, Atmos EnergyCovenant HealthFirstCapital BankLubbock Independent School DistrictScarborough Specialties

    Annual Meeting Decoration Sponsor: United Supermarkets

    Annual Report Presenting Sponsors: FirstCare Health PlansProsperity Bank

    Annual Report Diamond Sponsor: American National BankMcDougal Companies

    Annual Report Platinum Sponsor: Sanford & Tatum Insurance Agency

    Ambassador of the Year Award Sponsor: Parkhill, Smith & Cooper, Inc.

    Entrepreneur/Small Business of the Year Award Sponsor: Reagor Dykes Auto Group

    Volunteer of the Year Award Sponsor: Volunteer Center of Lubbock

  • News News